Civic anc Community

County Councillors

Illus. by Rob Davies

County Councils were first established by the 1888 Local Government Act. At that time Powys consisted of three separate councils - Breconshire, Radnorshire and Montgomeryshire. These three counties were amalgamated by the local government reorganisation of 1974, and became Powys County Council.

Amongst other matters Powys County Council has responsibility for Education, Planning, Highways and Social Services, each being dealt with by individual committees.

One diarist had words to say about a Highways matter:

Several elected County Councillors contributed diaries for this project and many had other community responsibilities in addition to their role with the County Council.

The Chair of the Council was also a semi retired farmer, and had much of his day taken up with Council and other community matters.

White lines on Lower Chapel Road
White Lines on the Lower Chapel Road

Another County Councillor also had several different responsibilities:

The diary of a third county councillor can be seen here . Diaries of a town councillor can be seen here.