Powys: A Day in the Life

2002

Home

Communications

Community &
Civic Life


Culture &
Entertainment


Education

Health Care

Home Life

Law & Order

Social Conditions

Transport

Work


Index



E-mail

Education

Year 6 Diary III

The children from a Year 6 class (10-11 year olds) at Trefonnen School were asked to fill in a diary of their day, draw a picture of their room at home and a map of their route to school, and to answer some questions about themselves. This is a girls's diary.

7.00am - 9.00am I got up, got ready for school and then looked after my baby brother and sister. I then walked to school which takes 5 minutes.
9.00am - 11.00am My teacher did the register and then we finished off our history. Then we went out to play for a quarter of an hour.
11.00am - 12.30pm We came in at eleven to get our swimming kit. We went swimming.
12.30pm - 1.30pm When we came back our teacher let us go out early to our dinner play. We went in for our dinner at school and then we came back out for a little time and then we came in.
1.30pm - 3.30pm When we came in we did sheets of work for the afternoon and went home at half three.
3.30pm - 6.00pm I went home and I looked after the babies for an hour, then my brother did it for an hour and I did my homework, and then it was my turn.
6.00pm - bedtime I had my tea then I went into the front room to watch television for the rest of the night.
Trefonnen 3


Have you travelled on a train? Where to?
Shrewsbury.

Does your family own a car? Where do you go most often in it?
To my nanny's.

Do you go anywhere by bus?
Yes, swimming.

Have you lived in Powys all your life? List the towns/villages (or even cities!) where you have lived.
I've lived in Knighton and Llandrindod.

Where are your parents and grandparents from?
My mum is from Clun, Shropshire (England). My dad is from Lisburn, (Northern Ireland). My Nanny is from Valance (France) and my grandad is from Clun, Shropshire (England).

Do you speak Welsh at home? Do you speak any language other than English at home?
I speak English.

Where would you like to live when you grow up - and why?
I would love to live at China because there are festivals and entertainment and it's just a nice place.

What do you think you have achieved in the last year?
My handwriting and English.

What do you most want to achieve in your life?
Maths, I want to learn more about maths.

What is the most memorable thing that has happened to you? (Give dates if you can).
When I broke my nose.

If you could go back in time who would you most like to meet and why?
I would meet William Shakespeare because I can get tips to write poems and stories.


 


Next page

¦ Index ¦ Home ¦ Communications ¦ Community and Civic Life ¦ Culture and Entertainment ¦ Education ¦
¦ Health Care ¦ Home Life ¦ Law and Order ¦ Social Conditions ¦ Transport ¦ Work ¦
¦ Background ¦ Partners ¦ Sources & Credits ¦ 1891 Timeline ¦ 2002 Timeline ¦